Hungary's Tímea Babos in WTA's Doubles Team of the Year

December 11, 2019

The Women's Tennis Association (WTA) has announced the Player Award Winners for 2019 and the recipients include Hungary's top female player, Tímea Babos who shares the Doubles Team of the Year title with France's Kristina Mladenovic.

Their achievements this year included claiming back-to-back titles at the TEB BNP Paribas Istanbul Cup, followed by their second Grand Slam title together at Roland Garros.
At the Shiseido WTA Finals Shenzhen, they went undefeated in the group stage before becoming the first team to successfully defend the WTA Finals Martina Navratilova Doubles Trophy title in 11 years.
Babos and Mladenovic kicked off their 2019 season by posting a runner-up finish at the Australian Open. The pair also reached the semifinals at Wimbledon and quarterfinals at the US Open.
Following their Grand Slam triumph in Paris, Mladenovic ascended to WTA Doubles World No.1 for the first time in her career on June 10, 2019. Babos achieved the top ranking in 2018, a position she held for 13 weeks.


No comment yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × 1 =

  • Top 5 Articles

  • Articles by Date

  • Hashtags

  • © Copyright 2020 Duax Kft. –  All rights reserved.