EU leaders receive Nobel Peace Prize in Oslo | President of the European Council

European Union receives Nobel Peace Prize

December 10, 2012

Three leaders of the of the European Union received in the Norwegian capital, Oslo, the Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the EU "for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe".

On behalf of the European Union, it was Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission and Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament who received the Nobel Peace Prize from Thorbjørn Jagland, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

In his speech, Thorbjørn Jagland pointed out that "the Coal and Steel Community of 1951 marked the start of a process of reconciliation which has continued right to the present day.  Beginning in Western Europe, the process continued across the east-west divide when the Berlin Wall fell, and has currently reached the Balkans, where there were bloody wars less than 15 to 20 years ago."

He added that the EU has constantly been a central driving force throughout these processes of reconciliation. "The EU has in fact helped to bring about both the 'fraternity between nations' and the 'promotion of peace congresses' of which Alfred Nobel wrote in his will."


No comment yet. Be the first!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 − four =

  • Top 5 Articles

  • Articles by Date

  • Hashtags

  • © Copyright 2020 Duax Kft. –  All rights reserved.